Welcome Anonymous!  [ logout ]
HOME FORUMS DOWNLOADS LINKS ACCOUNT

 
Forum Index   |  Search   |  Usergroups   |  Edit your profile   |  Members   |  Login, Check Messages
Ranks   |  Staff   |  Statistics   |  Board Rules   |  Forum FAQ   |  Log in

Search for at
http://www.snipergamerselite.com Advanced Search


 
Recent Topics   Next 6 >>  
 Forum   Author   Replies   Last Post 
The new C.O.C Suggestions (Members Only) slackersuaris 33 Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:54 pm
JAMMER1 View latest post
Website renew time! General (Members Only) slackersuaris 1 Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:19 pm
ghostshadow View latest post
The Sn][per Group server Donations General WarhammerTX 3 Mon Nov 25, 2013 11:07 pm
York View latest post
Hey all General Cobrason 0 Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:53 pm
Cobrason View latest post
World of tanks General slackersuaris 3 Fri Dec 23, 2016 6:25 am
slackersuaris View latest post
Hello my good people from an Sn][per from a past life General hawcer 0 Fri Dec 16, 2016 6:49 pm
hawcer View latest post

upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    http://www.snipergamerselite.com Forum Index -> Tech Talk
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thefunnyman
{Sn][per} Member
{Sn][per} Member




Joined: Mar 11, 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Cleveland, OH
Reputation: 13.3
usa.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2011 12:39 am Post subject: No icon upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!! Reply with quote

hey guys (specifically BigMO, since he built this thinkg)  long time no play,

So my laptop crashed so instead of replacing it I think I'm gonna upgrade the PC so I can run the new sh!t again. However, I don't know jack about this stuff so I need help...

I have (to my knowledge):
AMD Athlon 64 3500 socket 939
GeForce 7200 GS
400 Watt power supply
1 GB Ram

The Ram is no problem I think I can just drop another Gig in no problem.. The problem is I can't seem to find a dual core processor to fit my 939 socket for less than $150 (and thats on ebay Sad.... was hoping someone had one laying around, or a better idea..) Second issue, I know crap about crap when it comes to video cards from what I can tell my 400 WATT power supply is greatly limiting me, the only thing I found to work was a Nvidia GTX 550 Ti.. please verify. Power supplies look cheap, but I'm not looking to do a whole system overhaul if I don't have to.

Please advise,

Missing the good old days with you guys!!!

-TheFunnyMan


In my business, you trust to much, you don't celebrate to many birthdays
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
thefunnyman
{Sn][per} Member
{Sn][per} Member




Joined: Mar 11, 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Cleveland, OH
Reputation: 13.3
usa.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2011 1:19 am Post subject: No icon Re: upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!! Reply with quote

i may also need help with RAM, haha. Like I said I know nothing!!

Think this is what I want, my mother board supports DDR333/DDR400 DDR SDRAM. This one looks good, cheap, warranty, and heat spreader (w/e that is).
What you think?

patriot RAM


In my business, you trust to much, you don't celebrate to many birthdays
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
CaptDuPage




Joined: Mar 13, 2010
Posts: 241
Location: Houston, Tx.
Reputation: 126.6
usa.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2011 4:58 pm Post subject: No icon Re: upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!! Reply with quote

Might want to get with Necro on this shit.  He knows everything about stuff about computers.



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sponsor
York
Sysops
Sysops
{Sn][per} Member
{Sn][per} Member




Joined: Jan 19, 2010
Posts: 181
Location: Moorhead,MN
Reputation: 124.6
votes: 1


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2011 11:22 pm Post subject: No icon Re: upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!! Reply with quote

I agree with the Capt....Contact Necro....He builds basic and custom systems for a living...So he would be able to tell you if its worth sticking any money into what you have or saving to build brand new and be able to play the newest games out there now....
Watch this video in which Necro talks you through this build he did...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSgAznkdWl4







Just one of the 3 Amigo's
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
WarhammerTX
Sysops
Sysops
{Sn][per} Member
{Sn][per} Member




Joined: Jan 18, 2010
Posts: 238
Location: Breckenridge TX
Reputation: 115.5
votes: 2
blank.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 1:56 am Post subject: No icon Re: upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!! Reply with quote

Honestly 939 is dead you need a complete new build dont go less than quad core on the processor I really would not use anything you have to be honest. The new games pretty much take a beast compared to the bf2 days


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nECrO
Site Admin
Site Admin
{Sn][per} Member
{Sn][per} Member




Joined: Apr 01, 2010
Posts: 123
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Reputation: 71.1


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 5:35 am Post subject: No icon Re: upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!! Reply with quote

I'll agree with Warhammer. BUT if a new build is out of the question, I'll give some advice.

CPU: I found dual core 939 CPU's at pricewatch.com for as little as $53. KEEP IN MIND. ANY Socket 939 CPU you find cheap will likely be used or refurbed.

RAM: If you are sticking with WinXP, 2 GB will be fine. BUT, DDR RAM is old and very expensive.

Video card: The 550Ti isn't bad, BUT an AMD/ATI HD5770 can be had for $20 less and is faster than the 550.

Power supply: What brand is your current pewr supply? How many 12 volt amps and how many 12 volt rails are there? A lot can be said about power supplies. Read my article in the "Necro tech talk" section of the forums on the subject.

All in all a low budget game rig can be done for as little as $400-$450 if you have parts that can be reused like hard drives and CD/DVD drives, case, etc....

Do you happen to live near a Microcenter store?????




Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Sponsor
slackersuaris
Server Admin
Server Admin
Sysops
Sysops
{Sn][per} Member
{Sn][per} Member




Joined: Jan 18, 2010
Posts: 125
Location: WI scon sin
Reputation: 108.8
blank.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 1:08 am Post subject: No icon Re: upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!! Reply with quote

quad core or bust dude! use that box to watch youtube and porn and dvd movies. Talk with necro he ad bomb for stuff on the cheap and good.


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
thefunnyman
{Sn][per} Member
{Sn][per} Member




Joined: Mar 11, 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Cleveland, OH
Reputation: 13.3
usa.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 8:01 pm Post subject: No icon Re: upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!! Reply with quote

[quote="nECrO";p="1141"]

Power supply: What brand is your current pewr supply? How many 12 volt amps and how many 12 volt rails are there? A lot can be said about power supplies. Read my article in the "Necro tech talk" section of the forums on the subject.


Do you happen to live near a Microcenter store?????[/quote

Power supply is a Ultra V series. its saying 20A output at +12vdc. I don't know about the number of rails, it says only 1 4-pin motherboard connector.

Yes there is a micro center about 45 mins. from me.

thanks for the help,


In my business, you trust to much, you don't celebrate to many birthdays
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
nECrO
Site Admin
Site Admin
{Sn][per} Member
{Sn][per} Member




Joined: Apr 01, 2010
Posts: 123
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Reputation: 71.1


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2011 4:23 pm Post subject: No icon Re: upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!! Reply with quote

OK. You will need a power supply as well. The Corsair Builder series are fairly cheap and good power supplies. 600W should do it. Also, OCZ has some PSU's  at a decent price but they aren't as good as Corsair. As for Microcenter, our prices are generally close to newegg. Compair the two and remember that even though Newegg doesn't have sales tax, you will pay shipping on most things. When You are ready let me know and I will look through our website and let you know if any deals are to be had.




Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Sponsor
thefunnyman
{Sn][per} Member
{Sn][per} Member




Joined: Mar 11, 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Cleveland, OH
Reputation: 13.3
usa.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 12:17 am Post subject: No icon Re: upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!! Reply with quote

motherboard/cpu bundle

patriot 4GB 1600 MHZ DDR3 RAM

Corsair Enthusuast TX650W 53A

Visiontek Radeon HD5770

Necro,
If you got a minute can you check this stuff out. I have been doing a lot of looking around and researching. This is what I have come up with, its more than I would like to be spending, if you have any tips on were to cut cost let me know. Or if I'm way of base with anything tell me.

Thanks for all your help,
thefunnyman


In my business, you trust to much, you don't celebrate to many birthdays
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
thefunnyman
{Sn][per} Member
{Sn][per} Member




Joined: Mar 11, 2010
Posts: 11
Location: Cleveland, OH
Reputation: 13.3
usa.png


Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 11:00 pm Post subject: No icon Re: upgrading MoFo's powerhouse!! Reply with quote

p.s. o know these are links to Tigerdirect, i'm not ignoring microcenter of newegg, i just like the website at tigerdirect better.

As far as the DDR ram being old and expensive, what other choice is there?


In my business, you trust to much, you don't celebrate to many birthdays
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view http://www.snipergamerselite.com Forum Index ->  Tech Talk Time synchronized with your computer time
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Announcement: To one and all 5 nECrO 117 Tue Sep 17, 2013 1:53 am
Devmonta View latest post
No new posts ts help and whats up all in one 0 iangrass420 1374 Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:40 am
iangrass420 View latest post
No new posts Can you run Black OPS 4 WarhammerTX 2004 Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:00 pm
York View latest post
No new posts Cat Shit One leave it to the Japs ! 2 slackersuaris 1449 Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:30 pm
York View latest post
No new posts One in the chamber baby! 2 MasterVyper 29 Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:42 am
York View latest post
 




Powered By: phpBB © 2001 - 2006 phpBB Group
Nuke-Evo Conversion By: Evo-Themez | phpBB-Template By: Codezwiz
Forums ©


Spambot Killer
Site Map

[News Feed] [Forums Feed] [Downloads Feed] [Web Links Feed] Powered by HTML Purifier[Validate robots.txt]


PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2006 by Francisco Burzi.
All logos, trademarks and posts in this site are property of their respective owners, all the rest © 2006 by the site owner.
Powered by Nuke Evolution 2.0.7 - Nuke-Evolution Xtreme 2.0 Edition.

This site is cached. Click here to update the cache.
[ Page Generation: 0.19 Seconds | Memory Usage: 12.87 MB | DB Queries: 91 ]

Do Not Click